top of page
Search
  • Helen Thompson

Rebranding Myself

Updated: Oct 4, 2020

I wasn't sure where to begin in terms of getting back into uni work but thought I should develop my portfolio and decided to make a logo for my 'brand'. I've never thought of myself as a brand but creating a logo would synchronise my work and give it a personality - a new uni year seemed like the perfect time to do this.


I knew I wanted my logo to be circular because I like the roundness of sans serif fonts and it would create a playful feel. It also needed to fit social media profile pictures like instagram which are generally round spaces. I also knew I wanted to use my name as I am pretty indecisive therefore this wouldn't change in the future and would easily identify my work. This was my original sketch inspired by some images I found on Pinterest. I tried to interlock each character as if they fitted into each other to retain the round shape and reduce the amount of negative space.














During the process of transferring my sketch to illustrator realised that the 'L' and 'E's look kind of like a face so investigated this idea. However, in the end I decided it doesn't look as complete as my original sketch and doesn't really have meaning behind it - what does a face have to do with my work/brand other than adding a playful aspect.



I used the pen tool to trace my sketch and altered certain characters to emphasise the circular shape - the two Ns were difficult as they needed to look cohesive but not identical. I also swapped the position of the N and O in my surname to test legibility but the original arrangement worked best in retaining the round shape. Next I experimented with colours using the bright presets on illustrator; I decided I liked the dark green/teal colour best - I could still incorporate these other colours depending on the colour scheme of individual pieces of work.



This is the final logo:


It is not perfect but I like the playful, bubbly feel from the san serif letters and blobish shapes; I decided to make the Os not symmetrical to retain this feel. I have already applied in to my instagram and hopefully you will soon see this logo on my work.

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page