top of page
Search
  • Helen Thompson

Project: Branding

My recent uni project was to create a brand from scratch based off of three words:

-Immortality

-Charity

-Learning/Education


My concept centred around the idea of learning to prolong and improve quality of life (Einstein famously said 'when we stop learning we start dying').


I decided early in the project that my target audience would be older people who are currently inactive or immobile physically and mentally.


Following lots of ideation and persona work, I settled on the idea of a monthly subscription box that provides the opportunity to learn a new skill or hobby in order to keep the mind and body active.


I created a brand toolkit to give an idea of the aesthetics of the brand and three different touchpoints to show how my branding could be applied day-to-day. Below are my presentation boards:


I created this pattern based off of my own illustrations that I transferred into illustrator. The pattern then featured in my website, packaging and advert designs.



Here is an example of how my branding could be applied to packaging - the subscription box and the information inside (monthly newsletter and activity instructions).



I also designed a website. If I'm being honest, I think this is my weakest touchpoint and it is not something that I have tried to design before. Nevertheless, I think it shows how the branding can be applied to website/interface design.



Finally I designed a series of adverts, mainly on bus stops, to appeal to my target audience. This was probably my favourite part of the project, as I got a chance to see how all my work could be brought to life. I also applied my designs to a concertina leaflet which could be used as a form of door-to-door advertising.



Overall, I really enjoyed this project. It was a lot of work but it solidified my appreciation of branding and as a result, I think this is something I want to pursue in future. I think I created a successful brand identity with a gap in the market - obviously I have more to learn, particularly in website design, but I am proud of what I have produced in the given time frame.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page