top of page
Search
  • Helen Thompson

Illustration

Updated: Jan 23, 2021

I have been interested in illustration for some time now however, I have always been slightly intimidated by it. I always thought you had to have a distinct style and personality to illustrations which overwhelmed and led me to stick to processes that I was more comfortable with and were safer. But as this is second year, and we are still in a global pandemic, I feel this is the time to explore what scares me before I solidify my practise for my final year. I aim to explore illustration this year in a hope to find my personal style and to investigate a new process/material. I thought the best way to start this would be to research and find some favourite illustrators to inspire me.


Billie Francis - an artist focussing on Children's illustration and publishing. The way she plays with shape and introduces texture into digital illustrations attracts me to her work. Despite being completed on a computer, her use of shape is angular and almost collage-like as if she has used scissors, giving her work a charming character.


Marylou Faure - a Parisian illustrator known for her vibrant colour palette and quirky style. I love her bold, unapologetic style that is created through the intensely saturated colour palette and almost comical, exaggerated shapes. Her work is playful and cheeky with an intense pop-art style.


Timo Kuilder - an Amsterdam-based illustrator that uses uncomplicated colour palettes and clean-cut linework. I am fascinated by his simple, pared back illustrations. It differs from what I thought illustration; instead of bold colour he uses a limited colour palette that creates a clinical yet serene atmosphere.


Yuxing Li - an artist that uses analogue techniques to create collaged illustrations. I love her collaged, layered approach. Although her shapes may seem naive, for me it is the child-like figures that make her work charming and comforting, particularly when coupled with her colour palette which focuses on primary tones.


Adriana Lozano - uses coloured pencils to create emotive, stripped-back characters. Her work makes me realise that illustration does not have to be perfect for it to have personality. Her sketchy texture and muted colour schemes create stark yet stunning portraits that I see as the most like fine art from this list of narrators.



2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page